Borrego Sun - Since 1949

By Kelly Seyarto
CA 32nd Senate District 

Senator Seyarto: Announces Deputy Darnell Andrew Calhoun Memorial Highway


Last updated 11/9/2023 at 2:12pm

Senator Kelly Seyarto (R-Murrieta) is proud to announce the passage of SCR 25, designating the portion of I-15 from Central Avenue to N. Main Street in the City of Lake Elsinore and the County of Riverside as Deputy Darnell Andrew Calhoun Memorial Highway.

Deputy Calhoun was killed in the line of duty upon arriving at a domestic violence call for service on January 13, 2023. He started his law enforcement career with the San Diego Police Department in 2019 and joined the Riverside County Sheriff’s Office in 2022, assigned to the Lake Elsinore Sheriff’s Station.

Born in Pomona, Deputy Calhoun was raised in Murrieta where his family owns a restaurant. During his younger years, he worked at the family restaurant and attended California State University, San Marcos, where he received his bachelor’s degree in Criminology and Justice Studies. He married his high school sweetheart in 2017 and the couple resided in the 32nd District.

“I was fortunate enough to know Deputy Calhoun personally through his work in our community,” said Senator Seyarto. “He was the epitome of a public servant and I am honored and humbled to be able to recognize him in this way, so we never forget the sacrifice he made to keep our district safe.”

Deputy Calhoun is survived by his wife, Vanessa, their three sons, along with his parents and siblings. He was widely known and loved in the communities he lived and served.

Senator Kelly Seyarto

– California’s 32nd Senate District

Senator Kelly Seyarto, R-Murrieta, represents California’s 32nd Senate District, which includes the cities and communities of Aguanga, Anza, Borrego Springs, Canyon Lake, Cathedral City, Chino Hills, Corona, Desert Edge, Desert Hot Springs, El Sobrante, French Valley, Good Hope, Hemet, Homeland, Idyllwild, Julian, La Cresta, Lake Elsinore, Lake Mathews, Lakeland Village, Menifee, Mead Valley, Meadowbrook, Murrieta, Norco, Palm Springs, Sage, Sky Valley, Riverside, Temecula, Temescal Valley, Thousand Palms, Valle Vista, Whitewater, Wildomar, Winchester, Woodcrest, and Yorba Linda

Rendered 06/23/2024 20:06