Borrego Sun - Since 1949

By Tracy DeFore
County of San Diego Communications Office 

Postcards Go Out to Registered Voters for Nov. 7 Elections


Last updated 11/9/2023 at 12:41pm

More than 430,000 postcards have been mailed to registered voters in the Fourth Supervisorial District, Fallbrook Public Utility District and Rainbow Municipal Water District listing their voting options for the Nov. 7 special election. Only the voters who live in each of those districts can vote in their respective elections.

The special runoff election for the Fourth Supervisorial District will fill the vacant seat for the remainder of the current term ending in January 2027.

Voters who live in the Fallbrook Public Utility District and Rainbow Municipal Water District will vote on a ballot measure.

Registered voters in these districts will receive a ballot in the mail the week of Oct. 8. The official ballot packet will also include an “I Voted” sticker, voting instructions and other important election information.

Early voting begins Monday, Oct. 9, at the Registrar of Voters office in Kearny Mesa. Hours run from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. However, the Registrar encourages voters to take advantage of the convenience of voting by mail.

You can vote at home and return your voted ballot through the mail – no postage needed – or to any of the Registrar’s official ballot drop boxes around the county starting Tuesday, Oct. 10 through the final day of voting, Nov. 7.

Remember to sign and date your ballot return envelope. You must sign the envelope for your vote to count.

Voters who return their ballot through the U.S. Postal Service can track it by signing up for “Where’s My Ballot?”(

If you want to vote in person and avoid long lines, select vote centers will also offer early voting starting on Saturday, Oct. 28. The vote centers will be open daily from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. until the final day of voting on Tuesday, Nov. 7, when all vote centers will open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Learn more about voting in the Nov. 7 special election at, or call 858-565-5800 or toll free at 800-696-0136.


Information about the Fourth Supervisorial District:

The Fourth Supervisorial District continues to be served by the County government. Borrego Springs is in the Fifth District, with Jim Desmond as its Supervisor.

The runoff will be between the top two candidates, Monica Montgomery-Steppe (D) and Amy Reichert (R).

The successful candidate will fill the vacant seat for the remainder of the current term ending in January 2027.

Montgomery-Steppe, San Diego City Council President pro tem, received nearly 42% of the votes, while Reichert, State-licensed investigator and co-founder of ReOpen San Diego, received 29% of the votes.

Montgomery-Steppe serves as council president pro tem, representing over 160,000 San Diegans and serves as chair of the Budget & Government Efficiency Committee – overseeing the process for the City’s $5.2 billion dollar budget. She’s also on the San Diego City-County Reinvestment Task Force, the board of MTS, the San Diego Workforce Partnership, and the San Diego Housing Authority.

Reichert was the Republican candidate who ran for the District 4 seat in the 2022 election against Fletcher, but lost by a wide-margin.

She co-founded ReOpen San Diego, a non-profit community organization to ensure the safe reopening of schools, bring relief to struggling small businesses, and support first responders, healthcare workers, and teachers.

Note: Upcoming Elections in 2024:

March 5, 2024, Presidential Primary Election

November 5, 2024, Presidential General Election

Rendered 06/23/2024 20:08