Borrego Sun - Since 1949

State of Emergency Declared Due to Weekend Storms


Last updated 7/23/2015 at 4:42pm

Lieutenant Governor Gavin Newsom recently declared a state of Emergency in six California counties- San Diego, Imperial, Riverside, Los Angeles, San Bernardino and Kern. Widespread damage to public and private facilities- inspired by Hurricane Dolores- was caused by flash flooding and mudslides that forced the evacuation of residents and prompted the opening of emergency shelters. The lieutenant governor stood in for Governor Jerry Brown who is currently out of the Country. Newsom additionally ordered Caltrans to seek emergency funding from the Federal Highway Administration for road repairs.

You might be interested in:
Rendered 10/16/2021 03:43